“All things work together for good to those who love God and are called according to his purposes.” Sounds great,  right?  Funny thing,  no matter how many times I read that I can’t find the difficulty rating.  It doesn’t say everything will run smoothly for those who love God.  It surely doesn’t in my life and I have a lot of love to give. 

I about to turn 30 this year and I depend on my parents after much now as I did before I moved out,  got married,  and became a parent.  Being an adult is hard.  Being a parent is harder. I can see my parents struggling but somehow no mastery what I need they show up. Somehow despite their mistakes and set backs they rock being parents. 

I pray that God makes me into that type of parent (although I am going to try to do better financially). I take comfort that everything crashing around my shoulders isn’t random or pointless. It is creating a chance for my parents to model the type of parent I want to be for Corinne. It is making me more compassionate and understanding.  And after all the things I’ve lost,  broken,  and MacGyvered I should know a thing or two when Corinne hits those same potholes.  Hopefully all these hurdles will enable me to be there when she needs me. 

God is good all the time. Is life good all the time….no. There are ups and downs,  usually at the same time with me. It’s like some weird emotional exercise machine. But let’s face it, that’s all the workout I have time for.  Keep walking my friends. We all do what we must.  Let it make us better people because of it.

