Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Happy New Year! 2016 had some good points: My brother got married and I gained a sister, my daughter’s first interactive trip to the zoo, teaching her how to bake Christmas cookies. It also had some rough points: My husband’s back surgery, job changes, the election, need I say more? Whether it was a good year for you or a rough one I hope 2017 is going to be better.

A new year always brings new hope and new challenges. This year, a new president. My followers know I don’t do change well even when necessary. I know I’m supposed to be anxious for nothing because God is in control no matter who is in office but I can’t help but hope my hoping isn’t in vain. We need a change in this country desperately; I just don’t trust politicians. We, as a people, need to get our act together, start taking responsibility for our own actions and the needs of our neighbors and stop looking to some elected figurehead to solve everything for us. This backseat approach is what has gotten us into the trouble we are in now. Of course, if we take responsibility then we must accept blame when we fail and heaven forbid.

I’ll admit I’m just as bad as anyone. I’d rather curl up on my sofa watching Netflix and pretend the world isn’t going to hell, to say why worry about what you can’t change? But then where does that line lie? What can I change? I can’t change other people but I can change myself, my reaction or inaction. I can take responsibility for my little part of the country and hope that God will take care of the rest and others will do the same.

