Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

There are two basic responses to fear: fight or flight.

Fight: Face your fear, do something about it, acknowledge it.

Flight: Ignore it, take away its power, run from it.

Nothing is ever black and white for me. It all ranges in shades of gray. Not 50 Shades of Grey, that’s a whole other blog post.  I wish I could pick a strategy and stick with it but life doesn’t work that way. There are times when the best course of action against fear is to ignore it. Irrational fears and the what if’s are a good place to start ignoring them. Whenever I get freaked out by all the things that can go wrong I have a sort of mantra.

“I will not say what I fear. I will not give them names. I will not make them like people whom I owe loyalty and carry their spirits with me. Even monsters under the bed have nightmares and I’m pretty sure they’re about my God.”

A lot of the time fear sucks our energy, concentration and focus. If we simply ignore it and refuse to let it have power over us we can move past it and use our energy for better more enjoyable things. However, as much as I wish this were the once and done solution, there are times when fear needs action.

Fear isn’t always a bad thing. Fear can keep us safe. It tells us walking down a dark alley alone is a bad idea and that fire, unchecked, can hurt us. Fear hones our instincts. It makes our hearts beat faster, pumping more blood to our brains for better processing. If someone breaks into your house and attacks you fear calls for adrenaline which can give you extra strength and speed to do what must be done to keep you safe.

Then you throw God into the mix. He promises to protect his children. He has a good plan for our lives, not to harm us but to prosper us, to give us a hope and a future. I have never been good at deciding which course of action is the best for which situation. How much do I step back for and trust God to take care of and how much does He expect me to fight with Him? I suppose the point is I’m not alone either way.

