Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

My husband and I have started doing the Dave Ramsey Financial Peace University together. Looking over our finances and all of the dumb decisions we’ve made hasn’t been pretty but oddly enough once we started digging in it wasn’t as bad as we had feared. The hard part isn’t surveying the damage, it’s having the discipline to stay the course to undo it.

It is like the old saying: anything worth having is worth working for. We have not been very good at waiting until we’ve earned what we wanted. We have cut corners and had to work our way out of the hole we’ve dug. I’m pretty sure we aren’t the only ones who aren’t afraid of hard work but have run short on patience. With a little more discipline and patience we wouldn’t have to work as hard as we do.

The Bible says in Luke 14:28-29: do not build a tower without first counting the cost lest you be unable to finish and all who see it will mock you saying he began building but is unable to finish. But there is still hope for us. You, my readers, know me as a creature of hope. I wouldn’t survive without it. The road to recovery is longer than I wish but it is worth the wait to leave a legacy for my daughter besides wishing she was better with money than her parents. We want to give her every opportunity to succeed and we will. She is worth it.

