Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Life is all about perspective. For whatever reason my daughter woke up screaming at 5:30 this morning and she didn’t want daddy, she wanted mama. I was annoyed because why couldn’t daddy put her back to bed so I could go back to sleep? But as I sat cuddling, rocking, and singing to her (the effect almost immediately calming) I wondered why I was so annoyed. Why should I be anything but thrilled at the opportunity to cuddle and love on my precious baby girl? Who cares what time it is? She’s growing up quickly and all too soon she won’t want to cuddle with mama anymore so I may as well enjoy it now.  I can sleep when I’m dead, right?

How many things do we take for granted or gloss over because they are inconvenient? How many opportunities do we miss because it isn’t on our time schedule? Something tells me when I’m on my death-bed I won’t be wishing I’d slept more when I was younger. I’ll be wishing to hold my child/children and hug them some more. You can never have too many hugs from the ones you love. I don’t want to have regrets later about what I did or didn’t do so I try to keep my mind on the right perspective and enjoy life as much as possible.

