Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Both baby showers are done. There was a lot of good fellowship with family and friends, some we haven’t seen in far too long. I know one thing for sure. This child will never want for love or attention. She’s a show stopper and she’s not even born yet! Thanks to everyone who contributed to the baby showers I nearly have the nursery done. We are all getting excited about (and a little impatient for) our new arrival. No matter how badly we want to meet and hold her we keep telling her to stay in there as long as she needs to because we don’t want her coming three weeks early and causing a bunch of problems and worry like mommy did.

Part of me is totally cool about all this. “We’re almost ready. This is going to be good. We got this.” And part of me is like, “holy cow, six weeks. What are we going to do?” Welcome to my life. Everyone has been really helpful telling me the things I should know and dispelling some of the horror stories. I’m discovering that there is a lot more to pregnancy than you learn on TV (and it’s different too), go figure.

Ultimately, I am immensely grateful for the friends and family God has surrounded me with and the fact that I don’t have to do this alone. If I did, I would be freaking out a lot more right now but I think I’m handling these changes pretty well. Never underestimate the importance of your family no matter how much they drive you nuts. Their support and the things you learn from them are invaluable. Life is a journey. Enjoy the ride.

