Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

I don’t know about you but I hate waiting. I hate waiting in line, waiting for my TV shows to air and I burn my bacon about three times out of four frying it too quickly. I tried hard boiling an egg in the microwave once…don’t do it. Waiting the ten minutes for the water to boil and then boiling the egg won’t kill you. My impatience and impulsivity get me into trouble more often than not. You’d think I’d learn. It could always be worse. I have good days and bad days like everyone else but I’m impatient with my rate of reform too.

I heard a good quote from my pastor recently, “God’s delays aren’t necessarily God’s denials.” I’m not good at waiting and neither is my husband. I swear every time I ask him to wait on doing something or getting involved in something he hears “no, you can never do that.” I think a lot of us hear that when God says wait to something we want especially if we are waiting for him to provide a way out of a situation. I think that can be the hardest.

I’m no stranger to sticky situations: trying to find a job, any job, after college; figuring how to pay all the bills on a short check; trying to juggle the budget to move into better housing; etc. I’m sure most of us have been there at some point. God has always, always provided what I needed when I needed it. It may have taken longer than I’d have liked and not been in the way I was expecting/hoping but He has never failed to provide. The thing is, I get impatient waiting to see the provision I know is coming.

The trick to surviving the waiting is remembering God’s past actions. Like I said before sometimes the timing was down to the wire but God always came through. When David was squaring off to fight Goliath people around him were freaking out because the situation looked impossible but David kept his cool. He told them that while tending his father’s sheep God helped him defeat a lion and a bear. These were formidable enemies to a grown man but especially to a young boy. What was the difference between a bear and a bear sized human? When God is standing behind you He gives you the power and the courage to do the impossible. It’s kind of His specialty.

Another one of my favorite quotes is: “Never doubt in the darkness what you know to be true in the light.” It is too easy to know you are loved and cared for when the sun is shining and all the bills are paid and forget it when things go wrong. When you think everything is starting to look up and then the bottom falls out it can be frustrating and discouraging. I’ve been there. Sometimes it can take me a day or two to get my head on straight and remember that I have a heavenly father who takes care of me even when things slip out of my control (like most days I’m awake). That’s when I have to cycle back to God’s past actions and trust that a delay in His answer doesn’t mean He’s going to leave me in the mess I’ve made. Waiting for the answer is hard but trying to live life on my own, under my own control is harder. I guess I’ll just have to get better at waiting.

