Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Hello all, yes, I’m still alive. I realize my two week break for Thanksgiving has now stretched closer to six but sometimes life happens. The Holidays were crazy busy at both of my jobs and by the time I got home I was so tired I didn’t feel like doing anything. With the Holidays came much good food and fellowship with friends and family. I enjoyed that part at least. I got hired on permanently at my full time job and was able to quit my part time job. That made me happy and sad at the same time.
This rambling post does have a point. It is all about change and its opponent, procrastination. Anyone who knows me knows I have a bad tendency to procrastinate. It’s kind of like gambling. Sometimes it benefits me, like when I mean to buy something but keep putting it off and it goes on sale. Or like when I kept putting off my foreign language classes in college and my campus closed and when I transferred I switched from a BA to a BS and didn’t need a foreign language. Those tend to be special circumstances. More often I’d end up shooting myself in the foot, missing opportunities or scrambling not to.
It is so easy to put off what I should be doing, especially if it is tiresome like dishes or laundry that never seem to end. But it forms a habit and I start procrastinating on things that aren’t difficult and even on things I enjoy. How difficult is it to sit down for ten minutes and type up a blog post about what is happening in my life? Six weeks later I find myself holed up in my apartment, hiding from the -8 weather outside nevermind the wind chill. Work got cancelled and so here I sit with no more excuses to put off what I enjoy.
So I will try my best to knock the lead from my bones and keep my momentum in this new year. 2014 is going to be exciting, I can feel it. There will be life changes and life lessons, joy and stress. I may be a bad procrastinator who doesn’t always like change but today, I can’t wait to see what this year holds!

