Tags

, , , , ,

So we are about 35 days into my job at Ingram and call me crazy but I actually like my job. I know, novel concept. I can’t help it. I don’t understand how people just show up to work and trudge through day after day living for the end of their shift and the weekends. For the most part, when I invest energy in something I’m not going to embarrass myself by going in half-heartedly. If my work reflects the type of person I am to others I want it to be the best I can make it.

Like I said, I really enjoy my new job. I like the people, work environment, and the hours. I can’t begin to tell you how nice it is to have a stable schedule where I’m home by five Monday through Friday. I came home last Friday, had my dinner watched two episodes of Torchwood on Netflix, took an hour and a half bath with a good book and still had time to spare to write this blog among other projects. When I tell people I work two jobs seven days a week they automatically look exhausted and say things like “I wouldn’t have the patience for that,” or “That is more than I’d want to be working.” And truth be told, it is more than I like working too but it is getting me closer to what I want. When I’m out from under my debts I’ll be living like a queen and having a full time job is helping me get there.

Right now I’m still probationary. I’m trying to be an exemplary employee so someone will realize that I am worth keeping after my 90 days. I’m an odd find. I like my job therefore I will work harder at it than a person who doesn’t. I’m dependable, punctual, and I work well on my own or with other people. I’ve never been afraid of hard work if it gets me what I want and a lot of people don’t seem to get that correlation. I went to school, put my time in and spent more money than I should have borrowed and yes I deserve and good job but only if I am willing to be an amazing employee. Hard work now equals fun later. That is how it works. I told you I was odd.

