Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Our instincts are an important part of who we are. They are designed to help keep us safe and make wise decisions. Sometimes our instincts run counter to our logic. This makes things complicated. I seem to listen to my instincts part time (like when I feel uncomfortable around a person who has given me no reason to dislike them) and ignore them part time (like the time I donated blood and the nurse was unsure if she could hit my small veins. I did it anyway and bruised from wrist to elbow.)
I need to listen to my instincts more often. They may not make sense at the time but I’ve observed them to be right more often than not. Why is it easier to follow my instincts for small things like driving directions than for big things like buying a car? How can I know going in that I’m going to be played and not realize I’ve fallen for the trap I saw coming until it is too late? Then I sit around beating myself up, trying to fix the mess I’ve made. If I had only done the research, walked away, taken the risk of losing what I wanted to buy…
Someone once told me to stop “shoulding” on myself. I should have done it this way, should have said that, should have reacted differently. We can’t change what has been done. We don’t get do-overs. Not often anyway. I’m just glad God provides all my needs even when I seem to screw things up. He knows how to turn a bad situation into a blessing in disguise. And let’s face it, this is how most of us learn, through mistakes. Mistakes are inevitable. It is what we do with them that defines success and failure.

