Tags

, , , ,

I have an atheist neighbor who told me he wishes I could wake up on the other side of eternity just long enough to realize there is nothing there, that he was right. He can be a fun guy to talk to but I have to disagree. I believe God’s way is a better, more fulfilling, enjoyable way of life. I’m already living the life I want to live and if he insists that I’m doing it all for nothing what difference does it make to him? I enjoy living a life that helps other people. What more could I gain living outside the rules I live by? If I’m already living the life I want, what do I lose if he’s right and I’m wrong? What do I lose if I die tomorrow and there is no afterlife, no heaven? I’ve lost nothing. I leave behind a legacy for my family and friends and the lives I was blessed enough to touch, the lives I got to be a part of.

Now let’s flip the coin. What does he lose if (on the rare chance) I’m right? Let’s not even say I’m right. I’m bad about touting my being right. I’m not a gracious person with I told you so’s. I wish I was and I’m working on it. But anyway, if I’m not right but what I believe is, what does he lose? It’s going to be worse than hurt pride at that point. I’m not going to make an argument in this blog. I’m not a theological expert. I’m not great at debate. I only know what I have been told and what I have found to be true in my life.

If religion is a crutch for the weak then I’m ok with that. His (God’s) strength is made evident in my weakness (2 Cor. 12:9). I would much rather believe in a fairytale God who loves me and provides for me and has my back when life gets nasty than believe I’m on my own and there is nothing better to hope for on this side or the next. No wonder the suicide rate is so high. I know that there is a God because there is no logical reason for me to be alive right now but I am. I know that there is a God because he saved my life at birth and several times in school. I’ve been hopeless to the point of considering suicide but love kept me going. The love I had for my family who I couldn’t bear to grieve, the love of a God I couldn’t disbelieve.

I’m one person, in one city, in one state, in one tiny corner of the world but I’m not the only one who believes there is a God and He is good. You don’t have to believe me. You don’t have to listen. I can’t make you do anything. My job is simply to sow seeds, tell my side of the story and let God take care of the rest. You don’t have to believe like I do but if you don’t, don’t try and talk me out of it either. I learned a long time ago that you can say what you want about me but it doesn’t make it true. If you tell me, like my neighbor, that I’m a fool for believing in heaven than that is your opinion but I’m not booking a ticket to limbo because of you. I’m not resigning myself to a flat life with nothing to offer. I’m sorry this kinda turned into a rant. I’ll stop before I completely lose my point.

