Tags

, , , ,

I would like to acknowledge my fantastic husband, my wonderful parents, and all the other people God has blessed me with by putting them in my life when I needed them most.

 

Walls. We build them for protection from wind, weather, animals, and each other. We don’t just build walls of wood, stone, and drywall. We build emotional walls to hide and protect the soul inside. As children we were free and open. There was no reason to hide. But over time, every name called, every angry, hateful glance, every thoughtless word caused us to put up defenses because it hurt. It begins as a precaution to guard ourselves against future attacks but after so long of hiding we forget what we are protecting. We begin to fear what is behind those thick walls. What is it? How did it get there? It must be bad if it was locked up and blocked in so securely.

The thing we once valued is now feared. Who we were has been forgotten. The world tells us we aren’t good enough, smart enough, pretty enough. We’re not cool, rich, or fashionable. We have a lot of catching up to do to get where we need to be. It will take a lot of work, time, and money. It will take a lot of stuff.

Some souls will remain forgotten forever. Some will get lonely and neglected and will change. But some, those fortunate few, will get lonely and peek their heads outside their protective prisons. I say we in hopes that I’m not alone in this. It can’t be just me can it? I’m still poking my head out and knocking bricks out of place.

I decided that being known and loved for who I am is worth the risk that someone won’t like what that looks like. As long as I have someone I can come home to who will patch me up and tell me the world is wrong, that I am worth something, that I am beautiful in my being different, as long as I have someone to love me just the way I am with all my successes and failures I can knock out another brick. Sometimes I’ll knock out a brick and the resulting crash will scare me back into hiding but give me a reason to come out and it won’t be one brick at a time.

I’m the type of person who has a hard time believing in myself but if someone I love is struggling or hurting I will knock out who sections of wall to get to them. I can be strong for someone else. I can’t be me by myself, for myself. Not yet. I’m working on it. But as long as I have someone who loves me and believes in me I can be amazing.

I want to be that person for someone else. I want to pay it forward, backward, and sideways. We’ve all seen how much pain one person can cause but one person can likewise be a powerful force for good. That is what this blog is all about. It’s a new year. Start the year off right by making someone feel loved, like they are worth believing in. Change someone’s life this month, then do it again next month and the month after that. It will be difficult. Start small. One person may not seem like much but I have personally experienced the power of one person. Each person adds up. Each person who believes in another adds up to a group and I’m serious, you can change the world one person at a time.

