Tags

, , ,

We’ll cross that bridge when we come to it. Life doesn’t work that way. Love

requires a leap of faith, so I’m jumping off this bridge.

I’m freefalling.

Every muscle, every nerve, every synapse is screaming

against what I just did.

But at the same time, I feel the euphoria.

I’ve never felt more alive.

Colors are more vivid, every sound is clearer. I can see the ground

and how quickly I’m approaching. I’m not convinced love will catch me in time.

I shut my eyes tight and brace myself for the impact, for the shatter.

I can see myself splattered at the bottom of the canyon. I can hear everyone scoffing, “what a fool she was for trusting love.”

But just before I hit the ground,

love yanks me upward.

I’m flying again.

This cycle of flying and falling repeats. Now each time I plummet toward the ground,

I dare to scream and wave my arms.

Soon, I’m daring the ground to meet me, and I am stretching out to reach it.

With each bounce, my body slows until I’m gently lowered back to the earth.

I can feel the familiarity of the dirt. Now I can rest.

In the end, love was a risk worth taking.

