Tags

, , , ,

“There is no fear in love. But perfect love drives out fear…” (1 John 4:18 NIV)

When I first started dating my husband I was afraid of him for the first month we dated. This sounds crazy and people always ask me why I dated him when I was afraid of him. I wasn’t afraid of him because he was a bad guy or because he was trying to scare me, no. I was afraid of him because I didn’t know him and he was twice my size. I knew all too well how vulnerable I was. Now, I don’t recommend dating someone who makes you uncomfortable. But every time I had doubts about this baby-faced giant, God squashed them and told me to trust Him and this man who just wanted to love and protect me.

As I gave him a chance and got to know him, I found out that instead of making me feel afraid, he made me feel safe. Five years later 1 John 4:18 jumped out at me in church. I never believed in love at first sight because I believe love is something that needs time to grow. Love at first sight always seemed fake to me and some people want it so badly they try and create it.

Looking back, I think it was love at first sight but I took the time to make sure it was genuine before I got too invested. He loved me and I loved him even before we fully realized it and God chased out my fear and continues to chase it out when it creeps in. Love is a crazy thing.

