What is hope? According to the Oxford American English Dictionary it is, “a feeling of expectation and desire for a certain thing to happen.” That’s a narrow definition if you ask me. Hope is a crazy little word, so much more that a feeling or a desire. Hope is the light in the darkness. Hope gives us the strength to press on. Hope is what refuses to let us give up when it seems the only logical move. Hope tells us to keep fighting for a broken marriage or a terminally ill loved one. It causes us to break through the despair that clouds our mind from the options we haven’t tried yet. Expectation is a good word for hope though. When we expect something good to happen, we believe it. God tells us when we ask Him for something we should believe it will happen.

We live in dark times and it seems like every time I turn around someone is telling me it’s only going to get worse, that there is no hope. It’s a good thing I was born stubborn. I refuse to believe them. Hope is a dangerous thing to lose. My hope is in the Lord, the Maker of Heaven and Earth, the Lord of Heaven’s Armies, the Lord of Love. He gives me hope that even if the whole world goes crazy (believe me I think it’s well on its way) that He will take care of me and my family and provide all our needs.

Jeremiah 29:11 says, “’For I know the plans I have for you,’ says the Lord. ‘They are plans for good and not for disaster, to give you a future and a hope’” (NLT). There is that crazy word again. Hope. God isn’t making this up as He goes along. He isn’t guessing and waiting to see what will happen. He has plans for us. He knows what those plans are and they are good! No matter what the world looks like (it could look like it will end tomorrow) I know I have a future because of that crazy word hope and knowing where that hope comes from.

