“When you sent me out to change the world did you really think there wouldn’t be a cost?”—Martin Luther.

 

Am I willing to pay the price for what is right or am I content sitting quietly in my dark corner watching the world self-destruct? Am I willing to change my view of the God I grew up knowing? What if I don’t like what I find? But what if I completely miss the point by not doing anything? What am I missing?

Maybe I make it impersonal to protect my views, to give myself an excuse not to study, not to search for the answers. Maybe I don’t want to know the answers. What does it look like to move closer to God while simultaneously moving toward people, moving toward God by moving toward people?

Sometimes I feel like I’m spiritually crossing my eyes. There are some things we consider good that God considers bad and some things that we consider bad that God considers good. Trying to adjust my point of view is like trying to focus on my nose. It hurts.

Ever heard the saying, “anything worth having is worth working for”? How about, “ no pain, no gain”? Lighting our world and trying to change it for the better is painful and scary but it is worth doing. Sure I could sit idly by as I’m prone to do and watch the world go to Hell but eventually it will catch up with me. If I sit still long enough, I’ll be overtaken by the terror I watch. I’m not going to let that happen. I’m going to proactively change this world by changing myself and hopefully inspiring others to do the same.

There is a snippet of a Franciscan prayer that I am quite fond of and even have framed in my home. It reads “May God bless you with enough foolishness to believe that you can make a difference in this world, so that you can do what others claim cannot be done.”

