I once read this fantastic Calvin and Hobbs comic strip. Calvin was talking to his dad and asking why he had to join Tee ball. His dad wisely said it would teach him sportsmanship, teamwork, and help him build character. Calvin’s resulting line has stuck with me ever since. “Why do I have to build character? Every time I’ve built character, I’ve regretted it.”

 

Building character is one of those good things in life that does its best to disguise itself as something to be avoided. Learning takes work, and bettering yourself (changing your behavior) takes more work. The same can be said about faith. Faith is believing and trusting in something you can’t see and probably don’t understand. I’m sure I give God a good belly laugh every time I explain to him how my plans work. I like having plans and back up plans for the plans I’m sure will fail. God said he’d give us a lamp unto our feet and a light unto our path. I was complaining to one of my friends about how I wish God had given me a flood light instead of a stupid lamp. She told me that was silly because then I wouldn’t need faith. My mature and rational response to that was “Urrrrrr…darn you faith.”

 

Sometimes I wish that life would just be easy, but I know that I’d hate it if it were. I enjoy a good challenge, and I need something to keep me busy and out of trouble. I suppose, I also enjoy the results of my experiences, even if I don’t like the experiences themselves. I guess I’ll just keep following that lamp light.

 

